Complete records as of September 2023

Every accepted record that has a digital file is linked here to that file; this includes reports, photos, videos, and audio recordings.

OBRC Review List (species for which the OBRC welcomes sightings) updated July 2023

Submit a rare bird report

2023 OBRC Committee

Committee member and the year their term expires
Hendrik Herlyn (2023)
Tim Janzen (2023)
Nick Mrvelj (2023)
Philip Kline (2024)
Russ Namitz (2024)
Nolan Clements (2024)
Bob Archer (2025)
Daniel Farrar (2025)
Rachael Friese (2025)

Alternates serve one year
Craig Miller
Tom Crabtree

Tim Janzen [Contact Secretary]

The OBRC is interested in receiving reports of the following subspecies:

  • “Pale-bellied” Brant (Branta bernicla hrota)
  • “Bewick’s” Tundra Swan (Cygnus columbianus bewickii)
  • “Eurasian” Whimbrel (Numenius phaeopus phaeopus/variegatus group)
  • “Vega” Herring Gull (Larus argentatus vegae)
  • “Timberline” Sparrow (Spizella breweri taverneri)
  • “White-winged” Dark-eyed Junco (Junco hyemalis aikeni)
  • “Siberian” American Pipit (Anthus rubescens japonicus)

OBRC Annual Summaries

About the Oregon Bird Records Committee (OBRC)

Great Grey Owl in Jackson County, photo by Marty Karlin

The OBRC was organized in 1978 to collect, review, and maintain records on rare birds found in Oregon. The OBRC became a Committee of Oregon Birding Association when the association was first organized in 1980 under the name Oregon Field Ornithologists.

The OBRC uses the taxonomy and nomenclature of the American Ornithologists Union 1998 Checklist (as supplemented). Information for each record includes where the record was obtained, the date(s), the plumage or age of the bird when appropriate, and abbreviations for persons submitting the record. Other remarks have been added as appropriate. A list of contributors is presented at the end.

The OBRC consists of nine members, and alternates, elected by their peers. Members and alternates meet at least once a year.

OBRC Rules

Contact the OBRC